*A work of ten parts originally

6.       I wave a hand at

my reflection, and, after

a tic, she waves back.

7. You know she’ll leave eventually,

or you’ll leave,

if you’re fast enough.

The coming departure

stretching roots in your living,

stuffing its flowers under the couch

in coat pockets hanging in the closet,

 poked through white linen sheets

folded away in aging drawers. 

She finds them and ties their wet stems,

ready to crown your last moments

as the monarch of your memories.

“Did you ever think we’d be here,”

she asks in that curious, sullen voice

When you both lie in bed and the end yawns

between you on the blankets.

She asks, “When you met me, did you think?”

You smile that ugly bitter smile she loves

so much and reply “ I wouldn’t know:

past and present me aren’t speaking.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started