*A work of ten parts originally

4.       In the future I conceive

for myself, I wake mornings

to hear the chatter of early birds

and the nurturing soil grow

tomatoes and strawberries

in the garden out back. The breeze

knows me by name, sings the syllables

above watermelon patches and orange

trees. I sit on a porch I own and survey

what I have grown. I look at my hands 

in that dewy dawn and find them ageless.

5.       She’s here with me

and there with you

except my copy looks

nothing like the her I remember.

Maybe our editions got switched?

This version has her smile,

the mole along her neck,

even that mark on her knee

from when she tripped

along the sidewalk

and cried in 6th grade.

But this version is tall

taller than me,

her cheek trimmed

of baby fat,

her voice dropped in a valley

deep in her chest,

never to be recovered.

She is that unfamiliar stranger.

And yet you have her,

tiny hands, smallish feet,

bright  brown eyes and lips

that trip over the alphabet.

Has she learned how to swim

yet, has she said your name

correctly yet?

How fast the world ages.

Of course, you hold her

as she was, and I bear her

as she is, and there’s no traveling

backward, no set destination

between the clicks of the clock’s

minute hand, like there’s no song

without air in your lungs,

no path to walk across the Atlantic,

no way to look in the bathroom

mirror and enter through the glass.

 There is only the here

the now, the reflection on this side.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started