*Originally a poem of ten parts

8. If I were to travel and return

To what I was back in ‘02,

 A thing of five years aching

For a nap in the afternoon

And wondering why pencils 

Were so big and letters so small

But with memories of this present

Shoved through my ears,

I’d tell her to invest in Apple,

Tell her that the stock market

Is fallible, tell her that her happiness

Lies somewhere beyond 2012.

I’d go back and tell her

That I love her,

I love her and him and all the others 

I’ve killed and buried in the backyard

Of my mind to make room

for what happens next.

9. It’s a lie of convenience

That makes you think life drew a trail

from you to a quiet grave, 

between movement and stillness, 

that you would trail death to that silent earth

falling gently into that good night.

As if infinity would ever surrender, 

As if infinity would abandon your ghost. 

If only living were that simple. 

Life is both a spinning top

And the memory of motion

After, the fragile potential of history

Repeated. What’s the point of fear

When dying is merely the pauses

Of bated breath in between?

You had no idea that time

Could be so incomplete. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started