It’s enough to want

enough to want, enough to want

Enough to watch the stars stickered

to the dark walls of the sky

and wonder if they rise and fall

to bring life to another blue marble,

enough to watch our own star rise

and think that on her lonely days

she sings to her sisters.

Enough to want, enough to want

Enough to feel cool brittle grass trace my back

and picture trees around me growing

roots together to always be connected

and never not touching.

Enough to want, enough to want

Enough to lay at night under warm sheets

and hear the city noise grow soft,

the vibrating life of millions turning

over in its sleep.

             Enough to want, enough to want

Enough to have you beckon to me

and press your hands along my collar

long arms around my waist

to cinch time into a moment,

the future overlapping the present

like the ghost of a kiss on my forehead,

heat in my belly rising and ebbing

until it’s enough

Enough to want, enough to want

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started